120v--> 240v device question

RedDragon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
22 Mach E AWD Premium Ext Bat - Rapid Red
Country flag
All,

I am not an electrical engineer by any means, so would appreciate any and all comments. I found this device on amazon (link below) that says if you plug it in to two standard outlets on DIFFERENT CIRCUITS, it can produce a 240v outlet. I happen to have two outlets, right next to each other, in my garage on different circuit breakers. I was planning to use this to upgrade to 240v charging in my house . I am renting the house I am in now, so dont have the flexibility to just install a 240v outlet.

1) Is this thing safe to use? Last thing i need is any problems w house or MME
2) If answer to 1 is yes, would it actually produce materially faster charging than charging with a standard outlet?

THanks - any and all comments appreciated. This is not my area of expertise.

Link to product on amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Converter-El...psdc_6396124011_t2_B0824Y3M8V#customerReviews

Description: