Sam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MachE 4EX, 2006 Prius, 1997 Tacoma
Occupation
Renewable Energy Engineer
Country flag
I'm not an expert on tires/wheels, but we can fit a 245/50/19 tire on the stock premium wheels?
Probably not - 235 width is usually the widest tire recommended for a 7" rim. 8" rim would be more appropriate for 245.
Sponsored

mkhuffman

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME GT, Jeep GC-L, VW Jetta
Country flag
I'm not an expert on tires/wheels, but we can fit a 245/50/19 tire on the stock premium wheels?
Yes. Check Tire Rack for the tires you want and the minimum width allowed. All the ones I looked at can be installed on a wheel that is 7" wide.

louibluey

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
FE "Louibluey" GB
Occupation
retired
Country flag
OEM tire revs are 702. My new tire revs are 689. Also, as far as the difference in the speedo, I cannot see any. Not sure if the car automatically adjusts for it or not but using two different speedo apps plus Google maps and Waze, the car registers exactly the same speed as they do.
Certainly not a complaint, I am incredibly pleased with Mark's tire and Signature wheel set up which I copied. I am seeing +1 to +3 mph actual on Waze. With 72 set adaptive cruise on highway, I routinely see 74 on Waze.

Odd part is, when Mark first posted the speedo app showing very little difference, I used the same app and had the same result. But, months later, Waze consistently shows actual speed higher, and I am more carful (some parts of the NYS Thruway, 75 mph at times will get you pulled over, less so recently, not sure why they are letting up).

Anyone know if speedo is based on the front or rear wheel sensor alone (our set up has slightly different circumference front and rear)?

louibluey

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
FE "Louibluey" GB
Occupation
retired
Country flag