Advertisement



kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
They've realised they almost crashed their reputation by saying there wouldn't be an upgrade path for the sync 4 mache's to andriod.

Talk about making it up as they go along!
I think its a typical case of Management makes a decison, PR getting ahead of themselves and makes announcement, and everyone not thinking about the repercussions.
 
Last edited:

jhalkias

Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Mar 3, 2020
Messages
1,962
Reaction score
3,675
Location
Ohio
First Name
John
Vehicles
2016 Escape, 2019 Fusion Energi
Occupation
Benefit Fund Administrator
Country flag
I think its a typical case of Management makes a decison, PR getting ahead of themselves and makes announcement, and everyone not thinking about the repercussions.
Someone may have pointed someone at Ford to this thread on this forum . . . Just sayin’ - Ford is paying attention to what customers are saying at least and that is a good thing. Hopefully they will start thinking ahead more. 😉
 

kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
Someone may have pointed someone at Ford to this thread on this forum . . . Just sayin’ - Ford is paying attention to what customers are saying at least and that is a good thing. Hopefully they will start thinking ahead more. 😉
Youre probably right, seeing ppl not wanting to buy and lease or drop it completely may have attracted some attention
 

malba2366

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
280
Reaction score
244
Location
NY
Vehicles
911 C2S
Country flag
Does anyone know what processor Ford is using to power the infotainment system? Would like to know if it has enough headroom to support future upgrades, or if it is just enough to run the existing software.
 

kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
Does anyone know what processor Ford is using to power the infotainment system? Would like to know if it has enough headroom to support future upgrades, or if it is just enough to run the existing software.
Id be very surprised if its not a tegra. Could be the newer intel or amd but majority use the nvidia tegra
 

kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
Does anyone know what processor Ford is using to power the infotainment system? Would like to know if it has enough headroom to support future upgrades, or if it is just enough to run the existing software.
Well ill be...its made in house. The previous gens were made by Continental, but they are now making them in house. Apparently this gem has double the computing power of Sync 3 cars. And just to confirm, heres a job posting I found
https://ford.gr8people.com/jobs/5069/ivi-system-architect
 

macchiaz-o

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
3,186
Reaction score
6,425
Location
Valley of the Sun
First Name
Jonathan
Vehicles
human driven
Country flag
Does anyone know what processor Ford is using to power the infotainment system? Would like to know if it has enough headroom to support future upgrades, or if it is just enough to run the existing software.
I hope it's the 65C816. Lots of happy times with that CPU.

Well ill be...its made in house. The previous gens were made by Continental, but they are now making them in house. Apparently this gem has double the computing power of Sync 3 cars. And just to confirm, heres a job posting I found
https://ford.gr8people.com/jobs/5069/ivi-system-architect
What is it that you read on this job posting which lead you to the conclusion that the processor is made in house? I read it but don't see what you're seeing.
 

GoGoGadgetMachE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
2,757
Reaction score
5,482
Location
Ohio
First Name
Michael
Vehicles
2013 Ford Fusion Energi, 2021 Mach-E First Edition (ordered)
Country flag
I hope it's the 65C816. Lots of happy times with that CPU.
Knowing Ford, they'd still somehow manage to only give it like 2 MB of RAM instead of the full 16 MB it can actually address.
 

stroszek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
155
Location
MN
Vehicles
Saab 92x
Country flag
As long as they keep the system stable/secure and Apple carplay works well I'm not sure what OS updates that don't require new hardware I would want after 3 years.
 

macchiaz-o

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
3,186
Reaction score
6,425
Location
Valley of the Sun
First Name
Jonathan
Vehicles
human driven
Country flag
Knowing Ford it they'd still somehow manage to only give it like 2 MB of RAM instead of the full 16 MB it can actually address.
My setup had 1.25 MB... It was plenty. Cooling was an issue. Need to get air flow moving to prevent from overheating. Shouldn't be any issue for Ford to deal with that, though.
 

kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
I hope it's the 65C816. Lots of happy times with that CPU.



What is it that you read on this job posting which lead you to the conclusion that the processor is made in house? I read it but don't see what you're seeing.
It was in conjunction with another article that mentioned it was a proprietary system that was no longer from continental ag. Given also the fact that the MME is not suffering from the chip shortage, it seems that everything points to it being in house. Its probably still using an arm processor but the whole circuit seems to be in house. I may be wrong but there's no info about it anywhere.
 

kdryden99

Well-Known Member
First Name
Richard
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
1,076
Reaction score
928
Location
Montreal Canada
First Name
Richard
Vehicles
Nissan Sentra Spec-V, Nissan Rogue, Future Infinite Blue Mach E
Country flag
I hope it's the 65C816. Lots of happy times with that CPU.



What is it that you read on this job posting which lead you to the conclusion that the processor is made in house? I read it but don't see what you're seeing.
I know they are still using PowerPc processors for the ECU. But thats as much as I found
 

SteveUk

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
666
Reaction score
399
Location
Warrington
Vehicles
Ford kuga
Country flag
Youre probably right, seeing ppl not wanting to buy and lease or drop it completely may have attracted some attention
So they give a bit of a "maybe" now and then in a couple of years when it comes to making a decision they don't announce any upgrade path for existing mache cars. When someone asks they say they tried but it wasn't possible. Simple management of customer expectations.
 

ab13

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
259
Reaction score
190
Location
California
Vehicles
Rav4 Hybrid
Country flag
Id be very surprised if its not a tegra. Could be the newer intel or amd but majority use the nvidia tegra
I believe they are using systems from Visteon, since the driver display in F-150, the regular Mustang, and Mach E are from them. The 2 choices of infotainment systems are what Ford has talked about, an HTML5 version, and Android future version.

https://www.visteon.com/products/infotainment/

Regular Mustang driver display.
https://www.visteon.com/newsroom/20...ter-with-class-leading-graphics-capabilities/
 



 









Advertisement


Top