Decision between MME GT PE & Competitors; is 5 sec. perf. limit the deciding factor?

Panzer948

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 MME GT PE, 2021 Ford Bronco, 2015 BMW M4, CJ5
Occupation
Geologist
Country flag
I am seriously in the market to finally replace our 11 year old Chevy Volt with a full EV, that also has good performance. I love cars and own quite a variety, including a 2015 BMW M4. Thus, I would love to have an EV capable of transporting my small family on trips that also gives some "fun" when needed. I am all set to put the money down on the top of the line Mustang Mach E GT Performance Edition, especially since the overall acceleration is similar to my M4. However, this 5 second performance limit has me hesitating, thus I am actively looking at competitors. The BMW I4 M50 is a serious contender for me since it is in the same ballpark cost wise with similar performance, but without this 5 second penalty.

I am new to the Mustang ME forum world (but not Ford as I do have a Bronco finally) so am hoping others on here may have some speculation on this... Since I believe this can be changed through software, what is the chance Ford will see this as a bad marketing move, etc. and later reverse or change this performance limit; or atleast find another way to protect the battery that isn't so limiting.
Sponsored

scoopman

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 KIA EV6 GT, 2021 VW ID.4 Pro S
Occupation
former electric pony jockey
Country flag
5 second limit is not a marketing ploy -- it's part of what Ford decided to do to manage the thermals in a vehicle that shares its battery pack with models that draw much less power at load. It's not going away unless you redesign the battery pack.