Display Feature Request - view power (in kW) charge/output/regen interactively 'always on'

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
I have read thru manual, but haven't found a way to display instantaneous power (kW) during charge or output/regen while driving....

I'd also like to know if there is any way to alter the regen braking kW when in one-pedal mode or using the 'L' button.... i.e user settable regen within some allowable range.

I am hoping the regen behavior will be user configurable, even it takes a bit to get used to, I love the idea of capturing the braking energy rather than dumping it into mechanical rotor. There are obviously presets with the three 'modes'; but I'd love to SEE the kW actually output/regen, and be able to config the regen and one-pedal behavior.

It would also be helpful to see the actual charge kW to verify that charge level is as expected once started.....

My suggested enhancement to Display is:
Add 'power (kW)' having +/- to signify 'regen'/'output' above the range estimate number in the upper left AND have the Power, batt%, est range section of the Display 'always on'.

DisplayRequest-Power.jpg





Advertisement

 
Last edited:

generaltso

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
3,061
Reaction score
4,389
Location
Vermont
Vehicles
2021 MME Premium AWD SR Infinite Blue
Country flag
You can stop looking. It doesn’t currently exist.
 
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #4
You can stop looking. It doesn’t currently exist.

hhhmmmm, ok.....
now I'm wondering if enough of us request a modification to the screen display, it might happen in a future release of software?

i.e. I'd LOVE to see a little
+/- xxx kW just below the 'range' number on the permanent display

and I'd LOVE to be able to configure the amount of regen in one-pedal, and L button.



if ford won't add it to the display, I'm going to be tempted to find the shunt on the main HV battery conductors, and add a pillar mount gauge of my own. ;)
 

JamieGeek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
3,910
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Website
spareelectrons.wordpress.com
Vehicles
Mach-E, old: Bolt, C-Max Energi, Focus Electric
Country flag
hhhmmmm, ok.....
now I'm wondering if enough of us request a modification to the screen display, it might happen in a future release of software?

i.e. I'd LOVE to see a little
+/- xxx kW just below the 'range' number on the permanent display

and I'd LOVE to be able to configure the amount of regen in one-pedal, and L button.



if ford won't add it to the display, I'm going to be tempted to find the shunt on the main HV battery conductors, and add a pillar mount gauge of my own. ;)
Probably easier to find it via the CAN bus with an OBD-II scanner since I'm sure its flying around there somewhere.
 
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #6
Probably easier to find it via the CAN bus with an OBD-II scanner since I'm sure its flying around there somewhere.
maybe.... but I want to see it on the dashboard all the time WHILE driving
 

JamieGeek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
3,910
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Website
spareelectrons.wordpress.com
Vehicles
Mach-E, old: Bolt, C-Max Energi, Focus Electric
Country flag
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
ooohhhh, that looks very interesting..... are you going to get one and see what data is available for display from the MME ?

I was contemplating using a shunt based eGauge from the solar industry, but it may be tricky finding the right pre-scaler and shunt to match the MME voltage and amp. Or, if I can find the factory installed shunt.....

or.... we can start a petition and request a modification to the display in a software update.
 

JamieGeek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
3,910
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Website
spareelectrons.wordpress.com
Vehicles
Mach-E, old: Bolt, C-Max Energi, Focus Electric
Country flag
ooohhhh, that looks very interesting..... are you going to get one and see what data is available for display from the MME ?

I was contemplating using a shunt based eGauge from the solar industry, but it may be tricky finding the right pre-scaler and shunt to match the MME voltage and amp. Or, if I can find the factory installed shunt.....

or.... we can start a petition and request a modification to the display in a software update.
No; I'd rather bug Ford to put that info in the OTA ;)

I do have an ELM OBD-II reader and will likely play with it a little more once more apps start supporting the Mach-E (especially forscan).

Looks like there is an open source version you could modify/hack to your hearts content, however:
https://ecomodder.com/wiki/MPGuino
 

phidauex

Well-Known Member
First Name
Sam
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
160
Reaction score
272
Location
Colorado
Vehicles
2006 Prius, 1997 Tacoma, 2021 MachE 4EX (someday)
Occupation
Renewable Energy Engineer
Country flag
ooohhhh, that looks very interesting..... are you going to get one and see what data is available for display from the MME ?

I was contemplating using a shunt based eGauge from the solar industry, but it may be tricky finding the right pre-scaler and shunt to match the MME voltage and amp. Or, if I can find the factory installed shunt.....

or.... we can start a petition and request a modification to the display in a software update.
I don’t think I’d want to try installing a precision shunt in this integrated battery pack... Talk about warranty voiding...

The data is almost certainly available on the CAN bus, it will just take a little time for people to figure out the mapping.
 

Hplbiking

Well-Known Member
First Name
Hugo
Joined
Jun 27, 2020
Messages
58
Reaction score
42
Location
California
Vehicles
Mustang Mach e
Occupation
Emgineer
Country flag
Yes this really surprises me. My current focus ev shows energy usages for the last 5 minutes in one minute increments. I also regen while coasting. Not sure that is the case with the Mach e. Currently when I drive traffic is really light. If the signal ahead is red I take my foot off and coast all the way. And typically it turns green and I just increase my speed, never having to use the brakes at all.
 

c max

Well-Known Member
First Name
phil
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
171
Reaction score
196
Location
northern new jersey
Vehicles
2002 windstar, 2010 fusion hybrid, 2013 c max energi
Occupation
retired
Country flag
Yes this really surprises me. My current focus ev shows energy usages for the last 5 minutes in one minute increments. I also regen while coasting. Not sure that is the case with the Mach e. Currently when I drive traffic is really light. If the signal ahead is red I take my foot off and coast all the way. And typically it turns green and I just increase my speed, never having to use the brakes at all.
I like in my 2013 c max energi that there is a small circle that spins when you are regenerating (blue), also shows the addition of est. range to the small battery icon.....sometimes going down a hill, I can add 2-4 miles of est. range to the battery, which is pretty good in the small battery in the c max.....also when you shut down you get a trip summary and then a lifetime summary....both show regen. miles, and ev miles....fun to see......if I put 5000 miles on per year (I'm retired) I have already passed that in regen miles, so a year of free driving based on those regen miles.....
 
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #13
Do we know the the ACTUAL 'end of charge' highest voltage is in the traction pack?
 
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #14
just a tickle to see if anybody has any ideas on how to grab the real-time power (output/regen) and display it anywhere ?

or.... any good place we can send a petition for this to be displayed in some future software update to display on screen, perhaps right under or above the 'range' estimate?
 
OP
dtbaker61

dtbaker61

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
430
Reaction score
329
Location
santa fe,nm
Website
www.envirokarma.org
Vehicles
MME (delivered 2/26/21), DIY eMiata conversion
Occupation
Solar Sales/install
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #15
I don’t think I’d want to try installing a precision shunt in this integrated battery pack... Talk about warranty voiding...

The data is almost certainly available on the CAN bus, it will just take a little time for people to figure out the mapping.
I have emailed a couple of the aftermarket ODBII mfg, and they do not appear to have enough interest to start designing/supplying any aftermarket readers for EVs.

Lets hope a Ford certified Dealer tech can chime in and let us know if this data is available real-time via ODB2, or if we have to petition and bet for a change in the Display screen
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top