Do people find the actual brakes too responsive with 1-PD?

DrAchoo

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Premium Rapid Red RWD, St. Batt Mach E
Country flag
I've had my Mach-E for 48 hours, but I have extensive 1-PD experience on a Chevy Volt so it didn't take long to accommodate to the much more aggressive regenerative braking and actual stopping ability that 1-PD offers on the Mach-E (I do sorta miss a brake paddle though). However, I am finding it challenging when I actually use the brake to not cause sudden braking that isn't smooth. A prime example would be when I am traveling at low speeds close to an intersection and realize that I will not be able to stop in the desired distance with the 1-PD only. I then try to lightly touch the brake pedal and find many times that I suddenly stop 10 feet short and probably make the driver behind me annoyed. It isn't so crazy as to mimic me slamming on the brakes, but the usual sensation that you get with a brake pedal where you can feel the engagement of the brakes and then use further pressure accordingly seems to be missing.

Do I need to just give it more time? Are others feeling this way as well?
Sponsored

AZBill

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T, Hummer EV SUT, MME CA Route 1
Occupation
Engineer
Country flag
I initially found the brakes seemed to grab and pulse a lot, but after some breakin, they are better. I also have a Bolt, and never had any issues with the brakes on it, they are much smoother than the Mach E. I also like the paddle on the Bolt, with it I never have to hit the brake pedal, unless a real emergency stop is needed.

timbop

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Solar powered 2021 MME ER RWD & 2022 Corsair PHEV
Occupation
Software Engineer
Country flag