EV tax credit counting toward capital gains?

azulejost

First Name
t
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Iced Blue Silver Premium Std Range RWD
Country flag
Yet another tax time question, one that I haven’t seen through searching through many earlier threads.

In 2022, we bought a new ’21 Mach-E then traded it in for a ‘22 in a different color 8 months later. There was no intent to resell the ‘21 at the time of purchase. We also happened to by a second ‘22.

Before buying the first Mach-E, we had an Escape PHEV (for which we received the full $6843 plug-in tax credit on our 2021 (purchased in 2021) taxes filed in 2022) bought back by Ford as a lemon in early 2022.

It appears our tax professional is suggesting that in the buyback process for the lemoned Escape, we have to consider the amount of the plug-in tax credit ($6843) as subject to capital gains tax due to it being bough back at the amount of the purchase price.

I am not a tax professional, but I’ve done a lot of leg work with my own taxes over the years, and I’ve kept close eye on the plug-in tax credits over the years (as we have now had 6 qualifying plug-in vehicles). I’ve never seen anything to suggest the up to $7500 credit factors in to the resale value, potential capital gains tax, or any other factor with the subsequent trade/sell/buyback of the vehicle.

Have I missed something, or is this misguided advice?

Along the same lines, if someone like us had purchased a ‘21 in early 2022 at those fondly remembered “low” prices, decided the crazy used market would allow them to sell it later in 2022 and get a ‘22 with a frunk button release (or just a different color or configuration irrelevant for this discussion), would trading in the ’21 be subject to capital gains if the trade-in price were not at least $7500 less than its purchase price because of the pending $7500 credit? And if so, would the capital gains actually apply for 2023 since the tax credit has not been realized until the 2022 taxes are filed?