Garage door opener keeps losing programming

Perrin

New Member
First Name
John
Joined
Jul 5, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Los Angeles
First Name
John
Vehicles
Leaf 2012
Country flag
I have programed my garage/gate opener successfully three times now but the car loses the programing and I end up having to go in the house and get the gate opener to drive the car in! Why is the car forgetting?





Advertisement

 

machefan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
744
Reaction score
1,186
Location
NJ
Vehicles
RR FE 21', Leaf 18' and Wranger 17'
Occupation
IT
Country flag
I have programed my garage/gate opener successfully three times now but the car loses the programing and I end up having to go in the house and get the gate opener to drive the car in! Why is the car forgetting?
Wait you wanted a smart car?

Others have had issues with it and I think they got it working. I haven't set it up yet since I'm not interested in opening and closing the dealers garage door. First thing next to do when its back home. Hopefully someone can help you.
 

GoGoGadgetMachE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Michael
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
5,746
Location
Ohio
First Name
Michael
Vehicles
2013 Ford Fusion Energi, 2021 Mach-E First Edition (ordered)
Country flag
I have programed my garage/gate opener successfully three times now but the car loses the programing and I end up having to go in the house and get the gate opener to drive the car in! Why is the car forgetting?
what kind of garage door opener do you have specifically? might help with understanding the issue.

I don't have my Mach-E yet, but assuming it's the same third-party HomeLink that Ford's been using forever, then HomeLink has a compatibility list. My experience with Chamberlain-family openers (there's a few brands made by them for different market segments) has been that they are a pain to get properly programmed in HomeLink (it might seem like it has but it hasn't), and more than once I've had to do a full reset on the car's remote as explained in the manual to get it right for the first one. (My girlfriend's house and mine both use very close models of the same opener.)

this is somewhat because the Chamberlain stuff is kind of terrible in some ways but anyway...
 

crownmountain

Active Member
First Name
Dave
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
22
Location
Durham NC
First Name
Dave
Vehicles
2015 Mustang EcoBoost Premium Convertable, 2014 F150 King Ranch
Occupation
Industrial network architect
Country flag
Have had 5 Fords and the Homelink can be a little tedious to set up but never had one stop working once configured. Will be on the look out when I get the Mache-E
 

Maquis

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dave
Joined
Dec 21, 2020
Messages
324
Reaction score
431
Location
Illinois
First Name
Dave
Vehicles
2021 Mach E Premium; 2017 F150 XLT; 2013 Explorer XLT; 1965 Mustang Convertible; 1953 Chevy 3100
Country flag
People I know with Genie/Overhead openers have better luck with Homelink than those I know with Chamberlain.
Small sample size and all that.

YMMV
 
OP

Perrin

New Member
First Name
John
Joined
Jul 5, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Los Angeles
First Name
John
Vehicles
Leaf 2012
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #6
I have genie and successfully reprogrammed both the gate and garage. Hoping this time is the charm!
 

Phoney

Member
First Name
Andy
Joined
Feb 23, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
12
Location
Fort Lauderdale
First Name
Andy
Vehicles
Mach-E Premium RWD Extended Range
Country flag
I have programed my garage/gate opener successfully three times now but the car loses the programing and I end up having to go in the house and get the gate opener to drive the car in! Why is the car forgetting?
I’ve tried and tried to get my MME Homelink to open my LiftMaster garage door but no such look. Had to buy a new remote recently and that took seconds to programme. Will keep trying and trawl back over YouTube!
 

crownmountain

Active Member
First Name
Dave
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
22
Location
Durham NC
First Name
Dave
Vehicles
2015 Mustang EcoBoost Premium Convertable, 2014 F150 King Ranch
Occupation
Industrial network architect
Country flag
I’ve tried and tried to get my MME Homelink to open my LiftMaster garage door but no such look. Had to buy a new remote recently and that took seconds to programme. Will keep trying and trawl back over YouTube!
On my 2015 Mustang I use the remote to program the homelink button in the car vs trying to push the button on the opener itself. Works ever time for me. Have a Liftmaster.
 

eltonlin

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2020
Messages
814
Reaction score
1,030
Location
NorCal
Vehicles
FE Gray
Country flag
No issue here, though had to refer to the videos on homelink's website to be sure. Also have a liftmaster.
 

KAustin

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
839
Reaction score
1,069
Location
WDC
Vehicles
Kia Telluride
Country flag
I finally got mine set up today. It wasn't easy. I hope it holds, but we'll see. I've had trouble with some Sync4 items staying as set like the number of radio station rows.
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top