How to charge faster w/o a Nema 14-50 (from a 120-volt outlet).

ajmartineau

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E
Country flag
If your Mach-E came before you had your L2 charger (or a Nema 14-50) installed you can still charge at L2 speeds by using an adapter or switch or a DIY plug and two 120-volt outlets. If you've been on the forum for a while, you've seen me post about this before but I haven't gone into any details because I'm not an electrician.
If you Google/YouTube search for a DYI welding plug or make a welding outlet hack, etc. many similar things will come up.
A Bolt owner Eric made this video. The adapters in his video could be used in other ways.

You can also buy an electronic adapter like this sold-out one.
Ford Mustang Mach-E How to charge faster w/o a Nema 14-50 (from a 120-volt outlet). 1613701728511

I made my own adapter.
Here are examples of charging times for my Bolt to charge about 25kWhs starting on Thursday at 6:15 pm.

L1 granny charger: 12amp at 120 volts..... 20 hours!
Ford Mustang Mach-E How to charge faster w/o a Nema 14-50 (from a 120-volt outlet). 1613701887763

DIY L2 adapter: 12amps at 240 volts ....9 hours 45 minutes
Ford Mustang Mach-E How to charge faster w/o a Nema 14-50 (from a 120-volt outlet). 1613701917095

L2 Blink home charger: 32amps at 240 volts.... 4 hours!
Ford Mustang Mach-E How to charge faster w/o a Nema 14-50 (from a 120-volt outlet). 1613701959996

The adapter works off two different 120-volt outlets (from different phases) because the power coming into your house is 240 volts but your breaker box splits it so most of your house runs off 120.

mkhuffman

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME GT, Jeep GC-L, VW Jetta
Country flag
The more I think about it, the more I realize what a great idea this is.