How to reboot the Mach-E?

Kabish

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
709
Reaction score
751
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E Mustang
Occupation
IT
Country flag
How do you reboot the car?? My display, the smaller one, is freaking the hell out.
Advertisement

 

Kamuelaflyer

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
4,102
Reaction score
8,272
Location
Hawaii
Vehicles
2021 Premium Infinite Blue. ER AWD. 2020 Raptor
Country flag
Synch can be rebooted by pressing the volume button on the steering wheel to down while also pressing the next track button and holding them for about 19 seconds.

you can also try turning the car off and leaving it off for awhile and see if it’s behaving normally afterwards.
 

BMT1071

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
2,867
Location
Glendale, AZ
Vehicles
21 Infiniti QX50, 21 MME SR RWD
Occupation
Regional Service Manager
Country flag
Synch can be rebooted by pressing the volume button on the steering wheel to down while also pressing the next track button and holding them for about 19 seconds.

you can also try turning the car off and leaving it off for awhile and see if it’s behaving normally afterwards.
I thought that was the Sync reboot for the big screen only. Does it also reset the IPC?
 
OP
OP
Kabish

Kabish

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
709
Reaction score
751
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E Mustang
Occupation
IT
Country flag
I thought that was the Sync reboot for the big screen only. Does it also reset the IPC?
It definitely does not, I had tried that prior. :(
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Kabish

Kabish

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
709
Reaction score
751
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E Mustang
Occupation
IT
Country flag
So the issue I'm having..

This morning when I started up the car the driver display (the one at the steering wheel) was freaking out. Half of the display had the starting animation and the other half had half of the "press brake to start box". When I started the car it took about 10 seconds for all the icons to load on the display. When putting the car in reverse, took 10 seconds or so for the gear selection to show reverse. When driving, the speed was a good 10 seconds behind of what I was actually driving. For example, I was at a full stop at a stop light, and the car was saying I was driving 25mph... Turn signals also were lagged on the screen, 5 seconds or so after turning them on I'd get a solid green arrow, although my turn signals were working the second I turned them on.

Needless to say I shut off all the driving assistance. I did have someone slam on their brakes this morning and the car did the normal audible alert followed by the driver display getting the big red impact warning about 5 seconds or so later..

I did try the SYNC4 reboot as I had seen that posted on here in the past, no luck. I did also pull over and powered off the car and opened the car door and let it sit for a few seconds, no luck. They REALLY need to have the ability to "reboot" the car. Its software, its bound to have a bug up its butt from time to time, you should have an easy way to reset it....

I'm at work now, hoping when the car goes to sleep it can think about what horrible things it did this morning and correct its self.
 

BMT1071

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
2,867
Location
Glendale, AZ
Vehicles
21 Infiniti QX50, 21 MME SR RWD
Occupation
Regional Service Manager
Country flag
So the issue I'm having..

This morning when I started up the car the driver display (the one at the steering wheel) was freaking out. Half of the display had the starting animation and the other half had half of the "press brake to start box". When I started the car it took about 10 seconds for all the icons to load on the display. When putting the car in reverse, took 10 seconds or so for the gear selection to show reverse. When driving, the speed was a good 10 seconds behind of what I was actually driving. For example, I was at a full stop at a stop light, and the car was saying I was driving 25mph... Turn signals also were lagged on the screen, 5 seconds or so after turning them on I'd get a solid green arrow, although my turn signals were working the second I turned them on.

Needless to say I shut off all the driving assistance. I did have someone slam on their brakes this morning and the car did the normal audible alert followed by the driver display getting the big red impact warning about 5 seconds or so later..

I did try the SYNC4 reboot as I had seen that posted on here in the past, no luck. I did also pull over and powered off the car and opened the car door and let it sit for a few seconds, no luck. They REALLY need to have the ability to "reboot" the car. Its software, its bound to have a bug up its butt from time to time, you should have an easy way to reset it....

I'm at work now, hoping when the car goes to sleep it can think about what horrible things it did this morning and correct its self.
Last resort is disconnecting the LVB. Unfortunately that is a PITA.
 

Bulldog

Member
First Name
Brice
Joined
Jul 16, 2021
Messages
19
Reaction score
20
Location
Utah
Vehicles
Red MME Premium XR AWD, 2021 Explorer ST
Occupation
R&D
Country flag
So the issue I'm having..

This morning when I started up the car the driver display (the one at the steering wheel) was freaking out. Half of the display had the starting animation and the other half had half of the "press brake to start box". When I started the car it took about 10 seconds for all the icons to load on the display. When putting the car in reverse, took 10 seconds or so for the gear selection to show reverse. When driving, the speed was a good 10 seconds behind of what I was actually driving. For example, I was at a full stop at a stop light, and the car was saying I was driving 25mph... Turn signals also were lagged on the screen, 5 seconds or so after turning them on I'd get a solid green arrow, although my turn signals were working the second I turned them on.

Needless to say I shut off all the driving assistance. I did have someone slam on their brakes this morning and the car did the normal audible alert followed by the driver display getting the big red impact warning about 5 seconds or so later..

I did try the SYNC4 reboot as I had seen that posted on here in the past, no luck. I did also pull over and powered off the car and opened the car door and let it sit for a few seconds, no luck. They REALLY need to have the ability to "reboot" the car. Its software, its bound to have a bug up its butt from time to time, you should have an easy way to reset it....

I'm at work now, hoping when the car goes to sleep it can think about what horrible things it did this morning and correct its self.
Kabish - I have had issues with both of my screens. Tried multiple fixes, none of which worked. 🤬

The fix for me was to turn off the car and walk away. Let it sleep for as long as you can before needing to start it. When I did this (was about 4 hours for me) then the screen issues resolved and all was happy....until it may happen again.
 

BMT1071

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,136
Reaction score
2,867
Location
Glendale, AZ
Vehicles
21 Infiniti QX50, 21 MME SR RWD
Occupation
Regional Service Manager
Country flag
How do you reboot the car?? My display, the smaller one, is freaking the hell out.
I found this on page 363 of the manual.
1629134752214.png

It is in the section about OTAs, so it seems like it is definitely more than a SYNC reboot. Not sure how deeply this resets things regarding installed updates and such. If you decide to give it a shot, let us know how it goes.
 
OP
OP
Kabish

Kabish

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
709
Reaction score
751
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E Mustang
Occupation
IT
Country flag
I found this on page 363 of the manual.
1629134752214.png

It is in the section about OTAs, so it seems like it is definitely more than a SYNC reboot. Not sure how deeply this resets things regarding installed updates and such. If you decide to give it a shot, let us know how it goes.
I saw this as well. I took this more as a master reset of all the settings and such that you have done to the car. So like, resetting it back to a factory type setting.

I guess it is totally possible that it would force a reboot of the system though. I mean typically when you do a factory reset of something, it always reboots its self as part of the process.

I'm going to be going to lunch in about 30 minutes. If the screen is still jacked I'll take one for the team and do a master reset lol I will rage if my PAAK starts having issues though!!! I've had zero issues using that so far. lol
 
OP
OP
Kabish

Kabish

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
709
Reaction score
751
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E Mustang
Occupation
IT
Country flag
So it seems after it’s little nap it woke up in a better mood. After sitting for 2.5hrs it’s working normally.

it definitely was asleep as I had to push the door button twice for it to let me in. Normally it does not do that with the keyfob. /shrug.
 

macchiaz-o

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
5,619
Reaction score
11,244
Location
Valley on the Sun 😰
Vehicles
Premium RWD SR
Country flag
So it seems after it’s little nap it woke up in a better mood. After sitting for 2.5hrs it’s working normally.

it definitely was asleep as I had to push the door button twice for it to let me in. Normally it does not do that with the keyfob. /shrug.
I'm happy to hear that it reset itself back to a working state.

Using the key fob (not PaaK), I had to press the door button twice this morning, too. First press unfolded the mirrors and other wake up stuff. Second press unlatched and opened the driver door. No idea why, other than I haven't gone in for any of the SSMs or TSBs yet. December/early January build.
 
Advertisement

 
Advertisement
Top