Interested in the MME, but several questions....

Mirak

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
"Sonic" 2021 MME Grabber Blue First Edition
Country flag
Hi all, first post. I'm interested in buying the MME at some point in 2021. I've been driving a 2010 Fusion Hybrid since buying it new in the fall of 2009. It still drives great (now that I've software reset the battery life). I've been itching to go full electric for a few years now, but the MME appears to be the first EV that checks all my boxes: adequate range, size, and appearance at a reasonable price. The Tesla offerings to date, including Model Y, have all proved unsatisfactory concerning one or more of these criteria.

I'm interested in the Premium model for the nicer styling, glass roof, and included Active Assist Prep Kit, and I think I've got to go with the extended range battery. Most days the standard range would easily be enough, but a few times a month I'm gonna need a car that can log 200 highway miles in a go with a little extra range to spare. That seems to necessitate the extended range.

I've got a few noob questions and I would appreciate your input.

1. Will there be a significant difference in handling/safety between RWD and AWD, or other reason to opt for AWD? My concern is obviously price and slightly reduced range. I'm already going pretty deep in the hole for a Premium model with extended range battery (and let's not forget another $1k for tri-coat white and floor mats). Switching from RWD to AWD tacks on another $2,700 and cuts the range by 10%. Weather is generally pretty mild in Kansas, but we certainly get rain and a few days to a few weeks of snow/ice on the roads each winter.