Is it strange to get build week rather than build day?

Paul H

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Fusion Hybrid, Mini Cooper S
Country flag
Just got back from the dealer who was very helpful, and got a Vin # and a window sticker. He said that Ford visibility showed a build week of 5/10 but with no day assigned, which he thought was a bit odd. Have people been getting a build day assigned, or just the week?
Sponsored

Murse-In-Airy

First Name
Rod
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-E ER AWD
Occupation
Nurse
Country flag
I’ve never seen a build date discussed for an order. Everyone talks about assigned build weeks. Although, full disclosure, I didn’t order one, so I have no personal experience with this.

FPLiptak

First Name
Frank
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-E Premium ER AWD
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
A Build Week is assigned and then when the actual build starts the Build Day is noted.

markboris

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
_______ '20 Shelby GT500 FPB '21 Mach-E GTPE IS
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
The last two Ford's I have ordered, I have gotten a build week. Both cars took longer than one day to build. The Focus RS took three days from start to finish and the GT500's normally take 4 days but sometimes 5. I have no idea how long it takes to build the Mach-E but they are not specialty cars like the other two were so probably only a day.

timbop

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Solar powered 2021 MME ER RWD & 2022 Corsair PHEV
Occupation
Software Engineer
Country flag
The last two Ford's I have ordered, I have gotten a build week. Both cars took longer than one day to build. The Focus RS took three days from start to finish and the GT500's normally take 4 days but sometimes 5. I have no idea how long it takes to build the Mach-E but they are not specialty cars like the other two were so probably only a day.