Mach-E Stop Safely Now??! Wow

JamieGeek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
3,586
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Website
spareelectrons.wordpress.com
Vehicles
Mach-E, old: Bolt, C-Max Energi, Focus Electric
Country flag
Was watching one of the videos from the London preview when I noticed something that should be very familiar to anyone who has had a Focus Electric:
Annotation 2020-02-18 194354.jpg

For those that don't know: A few of the Focus Electric's were notorious for completely stopping on the road with a message on the dash "Stop Safely Now". In many cases this lead to a Ford buyback of the car as no solution was ever found (the SSN thread on the Focus Electric forums is the longest running thread on the site).

Fortunately my Focus Electric never suffered the dreaded issue (and in 2013/2014 Ford did have a software update that cured about 95% of the issue).

Seeing that message popup on a Mach-E, however, does give me pause (yes I realize that he was sitting in a hand-built prototype which may have a bunch of errors as the software/hardware is developed; its also possible that a self-test was running during the demo as a bunch of other error messages showed up on the display during the video).

Edit: Watching the video more closely it does look like a self-test showing all the possible errors. In addition, its logical that Ford would use the same "error code" as the FFE for that situation...just threw me for a minute knowing the Focus Electric's history with that error.

The message shows up around the 4:40 mark in the video in this thread:
https://www.macheforum.com/site/threads/autotrader-uk-review-from-uk-launch.429/





Advertisement

 
Last edited:

Ace

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steve
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
58
Reaction score
113
Location
Germany
Website
modernmusclecars.de
First Name
Steve
Vehicles
2018 Camaro 2SS
Country flag
The software in the prototypes is very very early and unstable. If you click a few things on the touchscreen it crashes pretty fast with not reacting to input anymore, throwing strange error messages and so on. We should wait for final production-near testcars that are handed to reviewers before making final judgements :)
 
OP
JamieGeek

JamieGeek

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
3,586
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Website
spareelectrons.wordpress.com
Vehicles
Mach-E, old: Bolt, C-Max Energi, Focus Electric
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
The software in the prototypes is very very early and unstable. If you click a few things on the touchscreen it crashes pretty fast with not reacting to input anymore, throwing strange error messages and so on. We should wait for final production-near testcars that are handed to reviewers before making final judgements :)
yeah I completely understand that. Just threw me for the loop seeing that error message LOL.
 

MustangJoe84

Member
First Name
Joe
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
17
Location
Baltimore, MD
First Name
Joe
Vehicles
2015 Mustang GT, 2003 Mustang Mach1, 1998 Mustang GT, 1984 Mustang GT
Country flag
My question is why are they showing vehicles with error messages at all. Even if they are early prototypes should this not be addressed by testing and fixing the problem before they are shown to the public? When this gets out on the internet it is viewed by many potential customers. (I was a software developer before I become a dealership employee).
 

mark360

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mark
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
283
Reaction score
302
Location
North Carolina
First Name
Mark
Vehicles
Tesla Model 3 AWD(OLD), Ford Raptor
Occupation
Manufacturing
Country flag
My question is why are they showing vehicles with error messages at all. Even if they are early prototypes should this not be addressed by testing and fixing the problem before they are shown to the public? When this gets out on the internet it is viewed by many potential customers. (I was a software developer before I become a dealership employee).
The vehicle is just a prototype car. There can be many variables to this, maybe they built this car without the expensive processor in it as just a road demo vehicle. It could also be that those same sensors are hooked into a different computer reading and capturing the data, so they can capture data on all the prototypes vs running it through the infotainment.

I am sure Ford has a very good reason. It's not a production unit, it's a prototype. They only built I think 20 of them.
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top