ajmartineau

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E
Country flag
Hi,
From my experience owning 2 BEVs and the 100's of review youtube videos I've watched (I'm not an expert), an Ev's peak charging starts to taper or step down anywhere from 40-65% depending on the manufacturer. So from about 0% to 40% (35kWh), it should take about 14 minutes. That would give you 119 miles (3.4m/kWh). Assuming perfect conditions, which is what most manufacturers quote.

That being said, I have never seen the peak number for my 2020 Bolt. The best I have done is 52kw. The bolt will stay the "max" charging rate from 1% to 55%, which a lot longer than 10 minutes. It's closer to an hour.

I will have to see some real-world charging rates for the Mach E. If it can't maintain charging near 150kWh for more than 10 minutes, this isn't the car for me. I don't own a gas car so I'm looking for charging that is at least two times the speed I have now.

Let's hope Ford is being conservative.
Sponsored

Last edited:

silverelan

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Mustang Mach-E GT
Country flag
Hi,
From my experience owning 2 BEVs and the 100's of review youtube videos I've watched (I'm not an expert), an Ev's peak charging starts to taper or step down anywhere from 40-65% depending on the manufacturer. So from about 0% to 40% (35kWh), it should take about 14 minutes. That would give you 119 miles (3.4kWh/m). Assuming perfect conditions, which is what most manufacturers quote.

That being said, I have never seen the peak number for my 2020 Bolt. The best I have done is 52kw. The bolt will stay the "max" charging rate from 1% to 55%, which a lot longer than 10 minutes. It's closer to an hour.

I will have to see some real-world charging rates for the Mach E. If it can't maintain charging near 150kWh for more than 10 minutes, this isn't the car for me. I don't own a gas car so I'm looking for charging that is at least two times the speed I have now.

Let's hope Ford is being conservative.