Maintenance Costs

L-Cat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Mach E
Country flag
For those with EV experience, what service/maintenance costs should I expect with my Mach E?
The dealer hyped up frequent brake replacement at a high cost (but couldn’t quote the cost) as a selling point for the extra service plan during my purchase. They have also mentioned that EV’s burn through tires.
I’m not convinced that they really know what they’re talking about, but I have no prior EV experience.
Sponsored

GuliblGuy

First Name
Justin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Shadow Black 2021 Premium 4X Mach E
Country flag
For those with EV experience, what service/maintenance costs should I expect with my Mach E?
The dealer hyped up frequent brake replacement at a high cost (but couldn’t quote the cost) as a selling point for the extra service plan during my purchase. They have also mentioned that EV’s burn through tires.
I’m not convinced that they really know what they’re talking about, but I have no prior EV experience.
Maint cost are very low on EV's which is a selling point. The car will do mostly regen braking when you stop, minimizing use of the actual friction brakes. Some people report seeing some rust on them after rain/car wash due to infrequent use, and have to do a bit of an "emergency stop" to get them to kick in and clean them up a bit.

Tires might get used up a bit more if you floor it at every green light, but I have never heard of a maintenance plan that would replace your tires.

Other than that, it's change your cabin air filter every year, rotate your tires, and I think it was replace the brake fluid every 3-5 yrs or something like that.

HuntingPudel

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME GT-PE, 1979 Fire-Am, 1972 K/5 Blazer
Occupation
Engineering
Country flag
From my experience with my PHEV, there is little in the way of maintenance costs. I still have more than 80% of my pad life left on ‘14 Fusion, including several track days.