prius2pony

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-e Premium First Edition
Country flag
So here’s my (somewhat cautionary—though ultimately happy) tale. Back in the summer, after ordering a Premium, I got in on the Mach Drop for a Grabber Blue First Edition. Yay! It got to the dealer Wednesday. I’m really new to most of this world of paint protection, but read on the forums about ceramic coating. My dealer—actually the manager of the dealership—also said it’s great to do, and he’d do it to the car even if I turned it down after my Thursday test drive. So we agreed he should do it Thursday morning in their detailing shop before I came for my test drive. The car looks AWESOME!

However, by the time Thursday drive time came, I had also learned about “Clear Bra” or Paint Protection Film. When I arrived for the test drive I asked him about it, and he said they did it for the majority of customers’ cars. “Great”, I thought.

Test drive was wonderful, and—importantly, I got it home and confirmed it would fit in my garage. Yay! Meanwhile, while at home I read more in forums and other sources that PPF should go on first, then ceramic coating. (Uh-oh.) I brought this up with dealer when I returned the car. He said, “no worries”, the place we use will be able to clean up the coating to ensure a good adhesive of the film, then he would have his detail shop reapply the ceramic coating on top (as all sources said should be the proper sequence)—at no charge for the second coating application.

All good by me, so I bought the car then.

Next day (this morning), I met him at the PPF place near the dealership, the head guy there showed me cars in their bays with the PPF, and confirmed they would do the process as dealer described (clean up the existing coating to get a solid adherence of film).

I agreed to all this, and I’m confident that it’s going to be great, even though it’s going to be extra steps overall.