RobbertPatrison

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Ice White Mustang Mach-E
Country flag
I used to drive a Chevy Bolt and Volt before my shiny new extended range AWD Mach-e. Chevy's electric cars displayed the propulsion and regenerative power flow conveniently on the dashboard. The Mach-e doesn't do that, so I configured car scanner pro to display and track a few nerdy parameters from the OBD2 bus. It matters: I am an electrical engineer ;)
The MagSafe charging mount places the iPhone in a perfect position to the left of the main screen. The built-in lower wireless charging pad tends to heat up the phone, which is very bad for battery degradation. In the location next to the screen the air from the AC cools the phone perfectly:
Ford Mustang Mach-E Peeking in the electronic brain of the Mach-e: How does energy flow? Cockpitview

Out of the dozens of OBD2 signals, I picked a few interesting ones that are relevant while driving. Here is what I observe in my extended range AWD:
  • During normal acceleration, the front motor produces power only until 16mph(25km/h). At speeds above that, it switches off, unless you push the pedal to the metal. This is what you would expect in 4wd cars.
  • If both the front and rear motors are engaged, the rear wheels do about 70% of the work.
  • At speeds above 16mph/25kmh, the rear motor does all the work in normal driving: both acceleration and regenerative braking. There is no front re-generation at higher speeds. I presume that is also because the rear motor is more efficient.
  • When braking at speeds below 15mph, both front and back motors regenerate energy to slow down the Mach-e. The braking torque is divided evenly front/back. That makes sense as it reduces the chance of a wheel slipping.