Please help me with the basics of updates so I can explain it to my dealer.

prius2pony

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-e Premium First Edition
Country flag
I've been poring over numerous threads about OTA updates, and also the bunch of folks that are doing firmware updates themselves. My issue is two-fold. (1) I have no background or education in any of this, and (2) when I talk to my dealer's service manager (who is very friendly), he seems not to understand that he should be able to determine if my various modules need updating. I'm sure there is a lot to be done; my car was built January of 2021, and I received it in February 2021 (First edition). Does this make my car a "Job 1" car I see referenced frequently? I did get an OTA update to 1.7.1 months ago, but nothing since. And the last/only time a dealer-applied update was done was when the car was about a month old, and it was failing to home charge (turns out Ford's settings made Chicago area grid home charging unstable)–but all that is fine now. I see posts about FDRS, and see tables about updates available [or not] for all the various modules. How does my service dept. determine which of my modules need updating? Am I correcting in surmising you're hooking up to the diagnostics port under the dashboard and getting all this info? My most recent call was a few days ago, and he was evidently putting my VIN into his system, but reported nothing shows as needing an update (other than the 2 recalls which I've been putting off). Thanks in advance for help & info, and aiming it at a guy with zero background in this area.
Sponsored

Reactions: RLW

Gullwingdmc

First Name
Chip
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Mustang Mach E GT AWD ER - Grabber Blue
Country flag
  1. Yes you are a job 1
  2. There have been OTA updates past 1.7.1 that you should have received.