Slow Charging

guinn

Member
First Name
Guinn
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
SW Colorado
Vehicles
2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E AWD Standard Range
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
A couple of weekends ago I took the car to the only Fast DC charger around here. After charging for 35 minutes, the car had received 14.4 kWh according to the receipt from Ford. This is a ChargePoint charger that can supposedly deliver 62 kW. So I would have expected a much faster charge. When I finally decided to quit, the car showed about 83% battery, so it's not like I was pushing towards 100%. I also have a ChargePoint charger in my garage that is plugged into a 240V 14-50 outlet. A couple of days ago I decided to look at my ChargePoint app, and it consistently shows delivering 2.4 kW when the car is charging. I understand that the charger should be able to deliver about 6 to 7 kW, and the car should be able to accept up to 11 kW.

If only one of these things had happened/were happening, I would have thought that perhaps the charger was not delivering enough power. But it seems unlikely that both chargers were defective. Is there any setting in the Mach-E that would tell it to slow down charging? (I have a receipt from another L2 charge from a month or so ago that looks about right, so this hasn't been going on since the beginning.)





Advertisement

 

Mirak

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Messages
799
Reaction score
1,053
Location
Kansas
Vehicles
"Sonic" 2021 MME Grabber Blue First Edition
Country flag
You can’t rule out a charging bug among the many bugs with the MME. But I will say that my experience with ChargePoint DCFC has been very, very mixed. You might check out the station you used on PlugShare and see what others are getting.

I can’t speak the CP L2 charger. I use the supplied mobile charger and it works fantastic. You might try using that instead to see if it makes a difference?
 

exact33

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2021
Messages
131
Reaction score
137
Location
Maryland
Vehicles
Mustang Mach E, Fusion
Country flag
You can’t rule out a charging bug among the many bugs with the MME. But I will say that my experience with ChargePoint DCFC has been very, very mixed. You might check out the station you used on PlugShare and see what others are getting.

I can’t speak the CP L2 charger. I use the supplied mobile charger and it works fantastic. You might try using that instead to see if it makes a difference?

I have had any good experiences with charge point do far
 

shutterbug

Well-Known Member
First Name
Joseph
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
593
Reaction score
732
Location
AZ
Vehicles
Grabber Blue FE
Country flag
I also have a ChargePoint charger in my garage that is plugged into a 240V 14-50 outlet. A couple of days ago I decided to look at my ChargePoint app, and it consistently shows delivering 2.4 kW when the car is charging
Make sure that ChargePoint is configured for the correct amperage. Presumably yours should be set for 50A. 2.4kW sounds super low. Back when I was using it with my C-Max, the app showed 3.4kW, and C-Max charger was limited to 16A load.
 

krafty81

Well-Known Member
First Name
Terry
Joined
Jun 23, 2020
Messages
425
Reaction score
392
Location
San Diego
Vehicles
2014 Kia Sorento, 2021 MME AWD EX Premium
Country flag
My home CP works great, charges at over 11 KW/h. Set at 40A.
 

shutterbug

Well-Known Member
First Name
Joseph
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
593
Reaction score
732
Location
AZ
Vehicles
Grabber Blue FE
Country flag
My home CP works great, charges at over 11 KW/h. Set at 40A.
These numbers don't jibe. If your Chargepoint is set 40A, that means you are pulling 32A and should be getting 7.68kW. If it's actually set to 50A and you are pulling 40A, it would still only get 9.6kW.

You can't break Ohm's law. It's strict, but just.
 
OP
guinn

guinn

Member
First Name
Guinn
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
SW Colorado
Vehicles
2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E AWD Standard Range
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #9
Make sure that ChargePoint is configured for the correct amperage. Presumably yours should be set for 50A. 2.4kW sounds super low. Back when I was using it with my C-Max, the app showed 3.4kW, and C-Max charger was limited to 16A load.
The ChargePoint app says Breaker Amperage: 50A. I got the charger from our local electric co-op, and it appears that I cannot change that setting. Is that the only thing that would determine how much the charger could produce?
 

BMT1071

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
539
Reaction score
468
Location
Glendale, AZ
Vehicles
17 Chevy Malibu, 21 Infiniti QX50, 21 MME On order
Occupation
Regional Service Manager
Country flag
The ChargePoint app says Breaker Amperage: 50A. I got the charger from our local electric co-op, and it appears that I cannot change that setting. Is that the only thing that would determine how much the charger could produce?
I can change mine in the ChargePoint app. Is yours hardwired or plug in? For plug in, on the Settings screen touch Breaker Amperage, then go through the steps to select the correct breaker amperage.
Actually now that I look at it a bit more, the same should work for hardwired.
 

breeves002

Well-Known Member
First Name
Sam
Joined
Feb 21, 2021
Messages
278
Reaction score
409
Location
St. Louis, MO
Vehicles
2021 Mach-E FE
Country flag
My home CP works great, charges at over 11 KW/h. Set at 40A.
I don't think you're getting 11kW at 40A lol. That would mean voltage of 275V+. At 48A with a 60A breaker I would believe that.
 
OP
guinn

guinn

Member
First Name
Guinn
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
SW Colorado
Vehicles
2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E AWD Standard Range
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
I can change mine in the ChargePoint app. Is yours hardwired or plug in? For plug in, on the Settings screen touch Breaker Amperage, then go through the steps to select the correct breaker amperage.
Actually now that I look at it a bit more, the same should work for hardwired.
Mine is plug-in. I also cannot change that. The co-op presets some things before they give it to you.
 

timbop

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tim
Joined
Jan 3, 2020
Messages
3,768
Reaction score
7,215
Location
New Jersey
Vehicles
2021 Mustang Mach-E (CA RT1), 2016 Dodge Durango
Occupation
Software Engineer
Country flag
My home CP works great, charges at over 11 KW/h. Set at 40A.
I think you better double check the breaker and what the CP charger is programmed to draw, or you might have a serious problem. You can only draw 80% of what the circuit is rated for if using it continuously for more than 3 hours. So, a 50A circuit should have the EVSE set to 40A and a 60A circuit should have the EVSE set to draw only 48A:

240V x 40A = 9600 Watts
240V x 48A = 11520 Watts

Sounds more like it’s set to 48A.
exactly
 

shutterbug

Well-Known Member
First Name
Joseph
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
593
Reaction score
732
Location
AZ
Vehicles
Grabber Blue FE
Country flag
The ChargePoint app says Breaker Amperage: 50A. I got the charger from our local electric co-op, and it appears that I cannot change that setting. Is that the only thing that would determine how much the charger could produce?
Yes.
 

Advertisement





 


Advertisement
Top