TRP

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach E P4x, Ford F150
Country flag
I have a bid from a solar install company for 7.6kw system. Included is 9kw battery backup, 7.6kw inverter, all racking for a ground mount, wiring and trenching, installed comes to about $30000.

Based on a solar calculator estimating what that system can expect to generate here looks like we would see about $79 mo on each bill averaged out over the year.

We pay 9-10cents per kw, let's call it 10cents for arguments sake.
Our total bill last year was $1653.55
Est output of solar system would be $943.70
Leaving a balance of $709.85 or about $59.16mo for our usage.
Last year average bill was $137.79.
Difference between old and set new bill would be $78.63.

Tax credit is 26% right now so total installed price after tax credit would be $22200 with the tax credit being $7800.

Admittedly I am not good at the maths but my best effort shows about a 20yr to pay off estimate. That hardly seems worth the effort to install it. Am I missing something or is that about right?

Now, I'm all for going green, I drive electric for crying out loud, but 20yrs is a bit much, in my opinion.

What say you?
Sponsored

TruWrecks

First Name
Doug
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-E Star White Premium AWD Ext (Ghost Stallion)
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
If you put a little effort in to optimizing your energy usage you can run a house on that power. Plus you will be able to run most of your house during a grid outage. That alone is worth it to me. And it will fuel your car for free during the day. That makes driving cheaper.

Reactions: TRP

Scooby24

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'21 MME-GT Star White; '22 MME Prem AWD DGM
Occupation
Perioperative Revenue Manager
Country flag
7.6kw for 22k? Jesus...no.

I realize it's intimidating but you CAN do this yourself. 13.86kw for 15k after tax credit. Given my usage (a bit high due to crypto mining), ROI is 4-5 years.

TruWrecks