Do I need to precondition my 2023 Mustang Mach-E battery?

BMH

First Name
Bruce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Mustang Mach-E
Occupation
Retired
I'm new to EV's, but I have a level 2 charger at home for my son's car. I'm retired and use my Mustang sporadically only needing to charge it about once a week. And I only charge at home. Thus setting a daily departure time makes little sense. And preconditioning while navigating to a public charging station is not likely to ever happen. So should I try to precondition on very hot or cold days before leaving home to run errands? And if so how?
Sponsored

Mach-Lee

First Name
Lee
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Mach-E Premium AWD
Occupation
Sci/Eng
Country flag
No, but just leave it plugged in on extremely hot and cold days. Preconditioning is for longer trips of 25+ miles or when it’s extremely cold.

If you don’t plug in you may lose heat when it’s below about 20°F if parked outside.

Reactions: BMH

OH2AZ2OH

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach E 4X
Country flag
It won’t be worth it for you. A preconditioned battery will get you better efficiency for the first half hour or so. If you’re trying to squeeze an extra 10-20 miles of range on a longer drive in the winter, then it makes sense. If you’re running errands, you’ll lose any benefit in range while the car is parked and loses the added heat you put in to precondition it. Summer range loss is less severe than winter range loss unless maybe you’re in Death Valley.

Bburrey

First Name
Bruce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 MME Premium extended range
Country flag
I have the same circumstances (retired, home charging, etc.). I normally do not precondition but we had a spell of sub zero weather and I drove the car about 15 miles without reconditioning and almost froze in the car because all of the heat was going to the batteries and not heating the inside. Learned a lesson there.

CTZ

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Mach-E