Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME GT-PE, 1979 Fire-Am, 1972 K/5 Blazer
Occupation
Engineering
Country flag
Totally bummed that the glass roof is required for co-pilot. I sadly figured this out as I was going to pre-order. Now I'm not sure what to do... Glass rooves are less safe, let more heat in, and frankly, I"m looking forward, not up.
According to the forum, the glass roof is both IR and UV resistant. I still don’t want it, but it does a good job at insulation.
Sponsored

harrysiii

First Name
Harry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'21 MME GTPE DMG; '18 Pacifica Limited
Country flag
According to the forum, the glass roof is both IR and UV resistant. I still don’t want it, but it does a good job at insulation.
Agreed. Doesn't let heat in. I too didn't want it but was required with the package. As a driver, I actually don't even notice it. The passengers love it. Doesn't let light in either like a sunroof does, which I always kept cover because of light and heat loss (in the winter).

I am also worried about the headaches of the what-ifs like cracking/breaking. Oh well. It is nice though; Ford did a good job.

Mach1E

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach 1, Chevy SS-sold, GTPE delivered oct 2021
Country flag
Yup, I’m in Florida and my DMG GTPE is cooler in direct sunlight than my white Chevy SS with ceramics tint was.

Weight has been covered in other threads but the difference seems to be closer to 30 lbs (based on the weight of the parts).

Safety? Not really sure how to address that one. Even with a steel roof the top half of any car is mostly glass.

HuntingPudel

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Occupation
Engineering
Country flag
<SNIP>
Safety? Not really sure how to address that one. Even with a steel roof the top half of any car is mostly glass.