CurtW

First Name
Curt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 GTPE
Country flag
As a software developer, I would like to loan my experience and expertise on this topic. (I don't have much to offer rather than jokes on most topics!!)

I've tested these features. In my MME - which is a very limited test group - I believe these features work exactly as designed. I was able to replicate some of the behavior cited in this thread, but I have not identified any bugs.

I would argue that I could gather requirements for an ejection button for the driver and a beer tap on the console. From this, I could design - theoretically - an optimally functioning solution where you could A) Draw a fresh glass of cerveza, B) Secure cerveza using an MME certified, sealable container, C) Hit ejection button to blow the roof off the car and catapult you and your driver's seat a hundred feet in the air, D) Launch a parachute from driver's seat positioned as such to control your orientation during descent, E) Auto inflate a cushion that would wrap around and protect you on impact.

After your ejection, you could casually remain in your seat, enjoying a refreshing, cold beverage while you post this experience to the funnest Mach-E stories and wait for your spouse (who is undoubtedly tracking your location using FordPass) to come pick you up. I could then argue this works exactly as designed, bug free. I would also argue this is about as desirable to me as a cruise control that accelerates my vehicle automatically.

In other words, I agree with those who argue this is poor design, in that it is an un-desirable if not un-safe feature that "might" result in un-intended results and potential liabilities for the manufacturer. In my opinion. :)
Sponsored

Last edited:

gregorym

First Name
Grzegorz
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach-e GT, S-Max
Country flag