Please teach me about driver assist

Mirak

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
"Sonic" 2021 MME Grabber Blue First Edition
Country flag
I've seen a lot of videos about the "bubble" and the "shields" but can pros please explain to me like I'm a total noob (I am) how all the MME's driver assist tech works?

First, the terminology. I've heard about Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keeping, Active Drive Assist, Co-Pilot 360..... I think the MME comes out the box with the first two, and Premium trims and above come with the hardware necessary to activate even more stuff OTA. Please help clarify the terminology.

Going forward to the next questions, please clarify whether this is stuff available now, or will be in the future OTA.

With Adaptive Cruise Control, you can set it to go x mph over (or under) the posted speed limit (a setting on the touchscreen), and it will maintain that speed with your foot off the gas except as necessary to avoid other cars?

Is that the same as regular old cruise control on the steering wheel, or is there a different button to enable Adaptive Cruise Control?

How well does ACC work recognizing speed limit signs? In my area, my highway was frontage roads with lower speed limit signs that are clearly visible from the highway. Is it smart enough to distinguish?

How's this all work with one-pedal driving? I assume activating cruise control overrides OPD?

If you've got the Lane Keep activated, how hard does the car fight you to change lanes if you don't use the turn signal? If you do use the turn signal, does that turn off LK until you re-engage it, or does it turn back on automatically?

Does ACC and LK work on all roads, or just highways?

What is supposed to be coming OTA later in 2021? I know you'll be able to take your hands off the wheel. What about automatic lane changes? Anything else?

I'll probably have MORE questions, but this should get me started. Thanks!
Sponsored

macchiaz-o

First Name
Jonathan
Threads
Reaction score