Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Ford Expedition, Ford F-150, Mach E GT
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
Like the Ford Model T I believe the golden age will be when the masses can both afford a BEV and easily charge it. I am by no means an expert but right now BEV’s are a bit expensive and the charging access for apartment dwellers is abysmal at best. They also need access to the same cost of power we who charge at home have. Here in Alaska electricity is fairly expensive but fairly inexpensive in most of the lower 48. If apartment dwellers can only have access to public chargers where the costs are quite a bit more than at home then I am not sure the golden age will ever occur. BEV’s may take over but it is not so “golden” when forced to pay 30 cents per kWh while home chargers are less than 10 cents. As for overloading the grid that is kind of a bogus thing. All you have to do is defer charging from the peak, say 5 - 9 PM, and there will not be an issue as far as power delivery. The cost of power during the night may rise as there may no longer be an off-peak power demand as exists today. I am an old fogey so I may not live to see it but It would be awesome to charge my car at night for 6 cents or so and then sell some of it back to the utility during peak at 12 cents (for example - purchase at off peak and sell back at peak). That would be golden!
Sponsored

TGIF

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
‘18 Pacifica PHEV, ‘22 RR Premium 4X
Country flag
4. (Time to refuel) Is a bit tricky and this is something I point out to people who ask about it.

With an ICE car, the ONLY way to refuel is to visit a service station and wait for it to refuel. You might be doing this by finding a station along the way without doing a detour -- but I don't know many people who own a gas pump in their own driveway. So it always involves some effort.

While you *can* (and on a road-trip you would) do this with an EV ... for everyday use, that's not what we do.