Norm
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Subaru Solterra
Occupation
Mechanical Engineer
Country flag
That makes sense. I am by no means a battery expert, but how do Tesla and others achieve 200+ kW and better sustained charging with similar size battery packs? Just getting my hopes up for better charge speed in the future :)
Yup Tesla does it, also Tesla's batteries degrade after the 1st year too. I am sure a lot of this has to do with Level 3 Charging and charge rates.
My two cents, I would rather charge for 10-15 minutes longer and get less degradation.

Also be aware when there are many more EV's on the road and every Level 3 plug is being used at a station, and there is a waiting line (Tesla, EA, Chargepoint, EV go etc), no one will get full speed.

They do not install the infrastructure for 100% of the connected charge capacity of the stations and throttle back when more are being used.

Get ready for 50 KWh for all.
Sponsored

RickMachE

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Mach-E Premium 4X, 2022 Lightning Lariat
Country flag
Yup Tesla does it, also Tesla's batteries degrade after the 1st year too. I am sure a lot of this has to do with Level 3 Charging and charge rates.
My two cents, I would rather charge for 10-15 minutes longer and get less degradation.

Also be aware when there are many more EV's on the road and every Level 3 plug is being used at a station, and there is a waiting line (Tesla, EA, Chargepoint, EV go etc), no one will get full speed.

They do not install the infrastructure for 100% of the connected charge capacity of the stations and throttle back when more are being used.

Get ready for 50 KWh for all.
f56.gif

Blue highway

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach E Premium SR RWD
Country flag
That makes sense. I am by no means a battery expert, but how do Tesla and others achieve 200+ kW and better sustained charging with similar size battery packs? Just getting my hopes up for better charge speed in the future :)