benk016

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ben
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Messages
1,150
Reaction score
1,583
Location
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Vehicles
2021 Mustang Mach-E First Edition
Country flag
I just use torque on my phone to monitor these stats. Just curious what the max kW you've seen for accelerating and max for regen.
Advertisement

 
OP
OP
SteveJo

SteveJo

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steve
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
198
Reaction score
311
Location
Chadds Ford, PA, USA
Vehicles
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid, 2021 Mach-e/X
Country flag
I just use torque on my phone to monitor these stats. Just curious what the max kW you've seen for accelerating and max for regen.
I just set-up the gauge yesterday. I'll let you know next time I take the car out for a good spin.
 
OP
OP
SteveJo

SteveJo

Well-Known Member
First Name
Steve
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
198
Reaction score
311
Location
Chadds Ford, PA, USA
Vehicles
2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid, 2021 Mach-e/X
Country flag
I just use torque on my phone to monitor these stats. Just curious what the max kW you've seen for accelerating and max for regen.
Did a quick max acceleration (Unbridled and One-pedal) and got these max/min readings (upper left)...
IMG_2291.JPG
 

phidauex

Well-Known Member
First Name
Sam
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
385
Reaction score
714
Location
Colorado
Vehicles
2021 MachE 4EX, 2006 Prius, 1997 Tacoma
Occupation
Renewable Energy Engineer
Country flag
I was doing acceleration tests in Carscanner and measured a 251kW peak power from the battery for 2 seconds, which is the highest I've seen. Most of the time it rarely gets over 100kW, even in fairly spirited driving.

I'm trying to figure out the losses to the motors, which I suspect is around 4-5%. The PIDs give us motor speed and motor torque, but not power. I can do the math to get power, but it is a bit tricky since the PID time records don't all come at the same time, so you have to resample the data back to 1s resolution in order to calculate power, and I just haven't finished my scripts to do that yet.

One preliminary result from my test runs and analysis is that the AWD is quite reluctant to use the front motor - most driving is exclusively RWD, and it uses the front motor for a little power boost when accelerating, and it brings it in for a lot of regen. But not like a Subaru that is running something like 30/70 split all the time.
 

Mach-Lee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Lee
Joined
Jul 16, 2021
Messages
279
Reaction score
293
Location
Wisconsin
Vehicles
2010 Fusion Sport, Mach 4X ordered
Occupation
Sci/Eng
Country flag
I was doing acceleration tests in Carscanner and measured a 251kW peak power from the battery for 2 seconds, which is the highest I've seen. Most of the time it rarely gets over 100kW, even in fairly spirited driving.

I'm trying to figure out the losses to the motors, which I suspect is around 4-5%. The PIDs give us motor speed and motor torque, but not power. I can do the math to get power, but it is a bit tricky since the PID time records don't all come at the same time, so you have to resample the data back to 1s resolution in order to calculate power, and I just haven't finished my scripts to do that yet.

One preliminary result from my test runs and analysis is that the AWD is quite reluctant to use the front motor - most driving is exclusively RWD, and it uses the front motor for a little power boost when accelerating, and it brings it in for a lot of regen. But not like a Subaru that is running something like 30/70 split all the time.
Does it appear that one motor is more optimized for acceleration vs. cruise than the other? Slow speed vs. high speed?

Unless you're accelerating quickly, the speed is probably a lot more constant than the torque, so the lag might acceptable to still get a decent number.
 

JimmyMachE

Active Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
26
Location
Montana
Vehicles
Mach E
In Car Scanner I enabled optimization for CAN ISO 15765 and UDS requests (advanced connection settings), got much better refresh rate:
https://www.carscanner.info/optimizing-connection-speed/

Ping rate can be displayed and the lowest ping is with 1-2 sensors on the Dashboard. Live Sensors view has better refresh rate than Dashboard.

For multiplication of any two sensors you can use the "role override" trick. The "EV Battery power kW" is the only hidden multiplication I discovered in Car Scanner, but it can be used to multiply any two sensors (A*B/1000). There are other roles (CALC_TorqueFromPower, etc.) that probably might be used, but I didn't try.
 

phidauex

Well-Known Member
First Name
Sam
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
385
Reaction score
714
Location
Colorado
Vehicles
2021 MachE 4EX, 2006 Prius, 1997 Tacoma
Occupation
Renewable Energy Engineer
Country flag
In Car Scanner I enabled optimization for CAN ISO 15765 and UDS requests (advanced connection settings), got much better refresh rate:
https://www.carscanner.info/optimizing-connection-speed/

Ping rate can be displayed and the lowest ping is with 1-2 sensors on the Dashboard. Live Sensors view has better refresh rate than Dashboard.

For multiplication of any two sensors you can use the "role override" trick. The "EV Battery power kW" is the only hidden multiplication I discovered in Car Scanner, but it can be used to multiply any two sensors (A*B/1000). There are other roles (CALC_TorqueFromPower, etc.) that probably might be used, but I didn't try.
Excellent, I'll have to play with the optimization settings - on a simple dashboard with 8 text displays I'm getting a refresh rate of about 600ms.

It isn't clear to me on Carscanner how to determine which PIDs get logged - I found that in Dashboard mode it logs whatever is up on the current dashboard, but if I switch pages, it starts logging those points and not the original ones. I don't need the dashboard up for logging, but without being in dashboard I have no idea how to set what points get logged...

I'll need to play with multiplication too, it would be nice to get the motor power right in carscanner rather than calculating later. Remember that to get kW from Nm and RPM you need (Nm * RPM * 0.105) / 1000, where the 0.105 is the term to convert from RPM to meters per second.
 

JimmyMachE

Active Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
26
Location
Montana
Vehicles
Mach E
Indeed it seems Car Scanner logs values displayed on the current screen in Dashboard or Live sensors mode.

Switching dashboard to another page turns off logging for not visible sensors, now app logs sensors on the current dashboard page. WYSIWYG :)

Interestingly, the All sensors view logs every single sensor (but with much lower refresh rate).
 
Last edited:

dbsb3233

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tim
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
6,494
Reaction score
7,119
Location
Colorado, USA
Vehicles
2021 Mustang Mach-E FE Red, 2013 Escape Titanium
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
Indeed it seems Car Scanner logs values displayed on the current screen in Dashboard or Live sensors mode.

Switching dashboard to another page turns off logging for not visible sensors, now app logs sensors on the current dashboard page. WYSIWYG :)

Interestingly, the All sensors view logs every single sensor (but with much lower refresh rate).
I was seeing a 10 second refresh rate when I tried mine yesterday. That was on the two pedal% values. Pressed it down to see if/when it would change, and it was consistently 10 seconds later each time.

In fact, it was so consistent after a random press that it appeared it was actually a 10-second delay on live data.
 

JimmyMachE

Active Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
26
Location
Montana
Vehicles
Mach E
in All sensors?

Dashboard screen or Live sensors have refresh rate 30-100 ms if only 1 sensor is displayed.

All sensors view shows simultaneously over 100 sensors x 100 ms = 10 seconds refresh rate seems correct in All sensors view :)

ISO and UDS optimisations should help with the ping rate.
 
Last edited:

dbsb3233

Well-Known Member
First Name
Tim
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
6,494
Reaction score
7,119
Location
Colorado, USA
Vehicles
2021 Mustang Mach-E FE Red, 2013 Escape Titanium
Occupation
Retired
Country flag
in All sensors?

Dashboard screen or Live sensors have refresh rate 30-100 ms if only 1 sensor is displayed.

All sensors view shows simultaneously over 100 sensors x 100 ms = 10 seconds refresh rate seems correct in All sensors view :)

ISO and UDS optimisations should help with the ping rate.
Yes, that was in All Sensors. I've barely played with it any yet. It was my first pass through just trying to test if it was working. When scrolling through the long All Sensors list, I saw the Pedal% and decided to try pushing it to see if it changed.
 
Advertisement

 
Advertisement
Top