A bit of a brutal take on the Mach-e and a bit on EV's in general.

MacherAWD

First Name
Erik
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 AWD Select C&T, 2020 Bolt Premier
Occupation
Software Implementation Manager
Country flag
I jumped to the final thoughts, basically pointless or did I miss something?

I have been driving an EV since early 2016. All 3 of them have been cheaper to buy/own/operate than their gas equivalent and all have been more fun/practical than their gas equivalent.

So my "final thoughts" while yes I am awaiting the Breakthroughs, the Next Gen, the Solid State, the current Gen of what is out there is better for me than an ICE. So while we wait for "the future" what I am driving today is the best/most fun all around vehicle I could be driving. So unless you plan to just drive your old car while you wait, an EV is likely the best option out there.

Last edited:

azerik

First Name
Erik
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'21 Spacey Prem4x, '21 RX450H, 13 Focus EV
Occupation
DevSecOps, General PITA
Country flag
I've been victim of the "future updates", "when released features", "for now workarounds", "best thing coming soon", "this will make your <X> obsolete tomorrow" etc and I still don't fear the reaper, or hodl my breathe. I've held off because <X> tech is amazeballs! But guess what, it's still vaporware. Holding off and paying for gas until the awesomeness of the next awesome is released only costs you in the end. But that's probably why I have 2 EV's and have for almost 10 years now. Same battery tech (read: value) and just more rushed features to make <x> demographic happier.

Coffs

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach E, Explorer, Busa
Country flag
This time last year EV sales were 6.1% of total, now they're 7.9% so even with the slowdown the fact is more and more people are buying them but good news isn't news, more views and comments come from doom and gloom or controversy.