3 prong/50A/250v?

timchecketts

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Mach E
Country flag
I probably should have researched this more before I picked up my Mach E on Thursday but I erroneously assumed I was good to go with my outlet for faster charging with the outlet I have in my attached picture in my shop. Turns out the charger it came with is a 4 prong.

Can I safely buy an adapter, buy a specific charging unit or should I just bite the bullet here and get an electrician to look at this?

Sorry, as you can tell I have no knowledge on electrical so I was hoping to ask people way more knowledgeable than myself. I appreciate any advice.

2404EE33-12CE-4D70-B1D9-EBCE74C38173.jpeg
Sponsored

generaltso

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME Premium AWD SR Infinite Blue
Country flag
You can use a NEMA 6-50 to 14-50 adapter. Just make sure it’s rated for continuous use.

Or better yet, get yourself something like a ChargePoint Home Flex with a 6-50 plug and keep the Ford Mobile Charger in the car.

HuntingPudel

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 MME GT-PE, 1979 Fire-Am, 1972 K/5 Blazer
Occupation
Engineering
Country flag
That looks like a NEMA 6-50R. There are EVSEs that use a 6-50P on the end of their cord. The most common plug found on the end of an EVSE cord is the NEMA 14-50P. There are adapters, but they may or may not be safe depending on manufacture. If you are going to use the Ford Mobile Charger as your main EVSE, you should probably have an electrician change your receptacle and rewire as necessary. Make sure he supplies you with an industrial grade receptacle, as many people have had failures with residential and commercial grade receptacles. See the chart below for NEMA outlet/plug configurations. 😊🐩

Ford Mustang Mach-E 3 prong/50A/250v? DD98DD1C-A635-485B-B724-E7F9B896ACEB